Frequently Asked Questions

1. Are you Florida lawyers?

If you need to ask this question you didn’t spend much time reading through the website.  Here’s the thing:  DivorceEZ.com and its employees are not allowed to give legal advise as this is a non-lawyer website.  If you and your spouse are in agreement about getting divorced and can resolve the issues relative to your situation, getting divorced in Florida isn’t rocket science.  The Supreme Court of Florida has made it EZ to get divorced, Divorce EZ.

2. Can I be divorced in 30 days?

Yes, 30 days from the date of filing IF everything goes “according to Hoyle” (FYI:  Edmond Hoyle, 1672 – 1769, was considered the preeminent authority on card games).  Also, despite what many law firms and other document companies promise on their websites, it is 30 days from the date the case is filed at the courthouse, NOT 30 days from the day you sign up.

BEWARE: “No-Hearing” cases actually take longer because there are several layers of clerks who review the file before sending it to the judge to sign the final judgment.  The only way to be relatively sure of getting divorced in 30 days is to file the case where you live.  The judge must wait at least 20 days from filing before entering a final judgment of divorce.  Figure another week to set the five minute hearing and … divorce in 30 days.  Make your divorce EZ, DivorceEZ.

3. Do I have to go to court?

If your case is filed in one of the few counties that do not require your personal appearance at the final hearing, no court is required.  Those counties are located in Florida’s 20th Judicial Circuit (Lee County) and 1st Judicial Circuit (Okaloosa County).  It’s a nice process if you have no children.  If you have children, think about life after the divorce.  If you choose not to go to court for the divorce, you need to know what happens if there is a post-judgment issue.  If there is a problem, you MUST either go back to the county where the case was filed or transfer it to the county where you reside. The final court hearing takes about 5 minutes and about an hour out of your day.  It’s not a big deal.

4. I am in the U.S. military and out of the country. Can I use DivorceEZ.com?

Yes you can.  As long as you or your spouse are a resident of Florida (you don’t need to be here to be a resident) and can prove it with a valid license, voter’s registration or affidavit of a witness, you can get divorced in Florida.

5. We agree on everything, why do we need to file financial affidavits?

Simple, because Florida law requires you and your spouse to do so. No exceptions. 

6. What if my spouse chooses not to sign the papers?

Hire a Florida lawyer.  You can try to do it on your own but you will get frustrated and it will take a long time for you to unravel the wonderful world of contested divorces.  You don’t need to spend a lot of money.  You want to get from point A to B as quickly and cost effectively (i.e., cheaply) as possible

7. What about the children?

The court is only concerned with their BEST INTERESTS. Florida law really doesn’t use the words “custody” and “visitation” anymore. You and your spouse MUST fill out and file a Supreme Court parenting plan form which tells the court who will be responsible for the children, when they will be with each parent, who will pay for insurance and who is going to pay for their extracurricular activities.  Think of it as a visitation schedule PLUS.

8. What about child support?

Child support MUST be calculated in every case, period.  The worksheet must be prepared and filed with the court so the judge knows who is paying how much child support, and why.  The DivorceEZ calculator does all the work for you and prints the guidelines to be filed with court.  If you have more than one child, you need to make more than one calculation. Why?  Because the law requires you to let the court know how much child support will be paid for the remaining minor children when the oldest turns 18.

9. My spouse is missing. What do I do?

Do yourself a favor and hire a lawyer.  You can do it on your own but it is a very technical matter.  Make one misstep along the way and no divorce. 

10. What is the filing fee?

The filing fee is $409 in every county. Some charge a bit more to record the final judgment and, if so, they’ll let you know at some point.  If you can’t afford the filing fee, fill out an affidavit of indigency and send to the clerk with your divorce documents.  They will review it and let you know what, if anything, you need to pay. 

Make your divorce EZ, DivorceEZ!

 

Contact Us Today





DivorceEZ – Why Hire Us?

$ 149

Simplified Divorce

Agreement about Property/Debt, if any.

No kids, Not pregnant.

Both parties MUST attend hearing.

$149

No Kids

Agreement about Property/Debt, if any.

$ 199

Kids

Agreement about Property/Debt, if any.

Parenting Plan & Child Support Guidelines included.

$ 49

Child Support

Guidelines Worksheet only.